skip to main content

Graduate School

The University of Mississippi

Graduate Awards and Recognitions

Donald R. Cole Excellence in Promoting Inclusiveness in Graduate Education Award

Established in 2004, this award is given annually to an individual (faculty member, staff member or student), a group of individuals or an academic program who/that exemplifies a commitment to the cause of enhancing diversity at the graduate level. The purpose of this award is to highlight best practices and to honor those who are responsible for creating or enhancing an inclusive environment for graduate education.

Former Winners of the Donald R. Cole Excellence in Promoting Inclusiveness in Graduate Education

  • Criminal Justice Graduate Program (2019)
  • Dr. Derrick Harriell, Professor of English and African American Studies (2018)
  • Dr. Cecile Labuda,  Professor of Physics (2017)
  • Modern Languages Program (2017)
  • Department of Pharmacy Administration (2016)
  • Dr. Dan Jones and Department of Civil Engineering (co-winners, 2015)
  • MFA in Creative Writing Program  (2014)
  • Dr. Maurice Eftink, Professor of Chemistry and Accountancy Doctoral Program (co-winners, 2013)
  • Chemistry graduate program and Sociology graduate program (co-winners, 2012)
  • Dr. Gerard Buskes, Professor of Mathematics (2011)
  • Communicative Sciences and Disorders graduate program (2010)
  • Dr. John Williamson, Professor of Medicinal Chemistry (2009)
  • Mr. Michael Johansson, Director of the Office of International Programs (2008)
  • Dr. Alan Gross, Professor of Psychology (2007)
  • Dr. Joe Ward, Professor of History (2006)
  • Mathematics graduate program (2005)
  • Dr. Don Cole, Assistant to the Chancellor for Multicultural Affairs (2004)

Distinguished Teaching Award for Excellence in Graduate Teaching and Mentoring

An excellent graduate education can only occur if the students have excellent graduate faculty. Established in 2013, this new award is to recognize and reward graduate faculty members who have had an exceptional impact on graduate students in supervision of student research or professional practice. Additional criteria include excellence in graduate classroom instruction and in having a positive influence on the graduate curriculum.

  • Professor Beth Ann Fennelly, Professor of English (2019)
  • Dr. Arunachalam “Raj” Rajendran, Chair and Professor of  Mechanical Engineering (2018)
  • Dr. Kelly Wilson, Professor of Psychology (2017)
  • Prof. Matthew Long, Associate Professor of Art (2016)
  • Dr. John Rimoldi, Professor of Medicinal Chemistry (2015)
  • Dr. John Bentley, Professor of Pharmacy Administration (2014)
  • Dr. Alan Gross, Professor of Psychology (2013)

The Honor Society of Phi Kappa Phi

Phi Kappa Phi is the nation’s oldest, largest and most selective honor society for all academic disciplines. Membership is based on a student’s sound character and academic standing. Graduate students must rank in the top 10 percent of their class.